Hide Your Love

Has anyone out there ever truly opened themselves up to another person? Have you ever stood in front of someone, completely naked (metaphorically speaking) & really let them see & know you, flaws & all?

I am on a quest for knowledge & understanding. I would like to get, in the words of Don Henley, to the heart of the matter. Why are we all so afraid to let people in, beyond our brick walls of protection that we have spent years building around us.

I hear the term “fear of intimacy” thrown around a lot. I find it to be a crutch, an excuse, used by people who are too weak to trust another person. I myself have even used this as an excuse to stay closed off to the world around me. But, you have to ask yourself “what am I missing out on by keeping others at arms length?”. Near as I can tell, we’re missing out on real, unconditional love, a comfort within ourselves & pure joy.

Yuck! Sounds just awful, huh? Right!

When did the word vulnerable take on a negative connotation? To be vulnerable is to be strong, fearless & willing to really take a chance.

Leave a comment

Filed under Dating, Family, Real Life, Relationships, Single Life, Writing

Leave a Reply

